FORWARD BASE B

"Pay my troops no mind; they're just on a fact-finding mission."

My project

Hello,

I would like to show our readers my rotary hydroponic system project.

http://www.indiegogo.com/rotaryhydroponic

Since I am currently unemployed, I have lot of free time and I would like to put my skills to good use so any contribution to my project is welcome.

9 responses to “My project

  1. Luther Burgsvik November 8, 2012 at 1:10 pm

    Do you think it would be possible to design a modified version for growing cereal crops with (short stemmed varieties of wheat, maize etc)? I suppose you could turn the drum on its side so it rotates vertically rather than horizontally. Then just stack the drums one on top of the other and you could have a tower based farming system.

    If you’re looking into high yield food farming, then it might be worth looking into photo bio reactors, algae farms. The algae could be either consumed directly or as an animal or fish feed.

    http://www.fao.org/docrep/003/W3732E/w3732e06.htm

  2. sunhater November 8, 2012 at 1:31 pm

    I think that the best design for growing those varieties is vertical aeroponics like this http://www.designquarters.co.za/wp-content/uploads/2011/10/Minigarden_balcony_5-300×200.jpg but with the walls closer to each other and inclinable to follow the sun’s agle. Naturally this kind of system work best at equatorial latidudes.

    thanks for the link on algaes production.
    I have designed a new type of photobioreactor that permits to use larger tubes with better lighting but as always I lack funds so I am focusing only on hydroponics.

  3. sunhatersunhater November 9, 2012 at 12:01 am

    Now that I think my old prototype was able to house cherry tomato plants and short determinate tomato plants so yes I think it is possible to grow short mazie.

  4. Luther Burgsvik November 9, 2012 at 11:48 am

    That photo of the balcony vertical planter reminds me of massive solar (photo-voltaic cell) farms. I suppose they use similar principles of having the exposed area (plants or solar cells) perpendicular to the ground, rather than being parallel it. Like the Albedo effect of the suns rays on the earth: the suns rays are felt strongest on the equator (where they are perpendicular to the earth) rather than the poles (where they are parallel).

    I’ve wondered whether or not algae could move from an animal feed to becoming a human staple in the same way that grains and root vegetables have. Do you know of anyone who has tried turning algae into some kind of foodstuff (like pasta, bread, dumplings or something)? Or have you tried cooking with it yourself?

    Cheers.

  5. sunhatersunhater November 9, 2012 at 1:49 pm

    Yes, Eastern Asian people consume algae as a food, try to look for their recipes.
    I use algae only for biodiesel production experiments.

  6. Giovanni Dannato November 13, 2012 at 9:35 pm

    I recall reading that algae figured into pre-Columbian Aztec cusine

    The capital, Tenochitlan, was situated on an island in Lake Texcoco. So the locals would regularly harvest abundant algae from the lake.

    What do you think of Venter’s experiments with growing algae for fuel?

  7. sunhater November 13, 2012 at 11:46 pm

    Algae are rich of fats and nutrients so it makes sense, plus aztecs used emergency hydroponic beds for their crop.

    Venter is a pioneer and I agree with him that while algae is rich of fats (for fuel) we need to make custom organisms for our needs.

  8. Craig November 23, 2012 at 2:43 am

    http://www.omegagarden.com/index.php

    Here’s a cool system, makes sense to, for someone who has little space, should give you some ideas. It seems this system is on rollers, and yours is designed to be on a central bearing set up. I’d research the strength aspect, as the plants grow, the weight distribution may have more issues on a centre pivot, rather then the roller system. Certainly cheaper to build your own then pay $2595 for a retail variety. On second thoughts the advantage your system would have, would be that a centre pivot would not get organic matter, such as roots stuck in the rollers, like the product in the link.

    Myself I prefer simple systems that only require gravity and natural light, a lot less to go wrong, cheaper, thing is you generally require more space and a little more time to grow out.

    • sunhater November 23, 2012 at 10:11 am

      Hi, I am aware of the Omega Garden.
      Smaller prototypes will use drum locking rings to cheaply create the cylinder and rollers.
      Actually the central bearing is used to support bigger prototypes (it gets very heavy when the medium is wet ) I have never considered to drive it from the center.
      I have found a way to rotate the octagon (dodecagon with the 15° curves) from the outside using plastic gears, inverted plastic roller chains and curved plastic sheets, I was going to make a 3d rendering update to show it but since my project is not popular I am not sure it is worth to….

      Some years ago I saw a model similar to the Omega but with gears and even more expensive, can’t find it anymore.

Leave a Reply

