FORWARD BASE B

"Pay my troops no mind; they're just on a fact-finding mission."

It Boosts Testosterone Without Side Effects

On weekdays, I was an English teacher in Korea.

On the weekends, I was an explorer in a strange country.

One of the things that intrigued me most was the Asian system of traditional medicine.

I wasn’t interested in curing an illness, though.
I was interested in supplements that make a fit person even stronger.

I don’t trust big pharma, so as I browsed Seoul’s medicinal markets my goal was to go back to the source.

I saw things such as dried seahorses and live hornet’s nests being sold as medicines.

I tried out lots of things myself including roasted centipede, gastrodia(a plant that produces no chlorophyll and generates its food through symbiosis with fungal colonies), and mugwort a relative of nightshade that induces crazy, lucid dreams.

My favorite though, was the most famous of them all:

Korean ginseng.
It contains phyto-androgens unique to ginseng plants known as ginsenosides, organic compounds that boost testosterone and strengthen the immune system. Ginseng is one of just a few herbs that’s known for benefiting pretty much the entire body, an adaptogen.
Better, it’s been used for thousands of years and in all that time, it’s never been associated with any of the devastating side effects that are commonplace with pharmaceuticals.

In Korea I was able to buy up entire 6 year old ginseng roots and consume them straight.

I loved the fiery rush and the extra resilience I’d get from consuming ginseng regularly and it became a part of my lifestyle.

When I got back to the states, I found the actual roots were almost impossible to find. Ginseng was only available as overpriced pills and weak extracts that were often made with junk grade young roots or cut with cheap imposters such as eleuthero root.

With little other choice I tried different brands of pills and was disappointed. They couldn’t compare to the real thing.

I told Eric, one of my esteemed co-writers on this site about my encounters with ginseng and it immediately caught his interest.
He tried it out for himself and heartily agreed with my assessment of the root’s potential.

He then proposed finding a direct Asian source of the highest quality roots and then selling them direct.
Why not?
After all, we knew we’d have a product immensely superior to a market saturated with inferior gel caps that we could sell for much less.

We’ve actually made this crazy idea a reality.

17 responses to “It Boosts Testosterone Without Side Effects

  1. B December 22, 2012 at 6:57 am

    I’m in Australia and I just found an organic farm selling 60gram ( 2.11643 ounces) dried American simulated ginseng root for $25 +$9 shipping.

    How much ginseng would you recommend consuming a day and how long do you reckon 2.1 ounces will last?

    • Giovanni Dannato December 22, 2012 at 7:17 am

      For a really nice rush, I like to take ginseng in 3-5 gram doses at a time.

      Thus, even using generous dosage that much will last you a good 12-20 uses.

      It can be good to consume large doses of ginseng for as long as 1 to 2 weeks straight before you feel like you’ve had enough.
      You can probably take it every day for a couple of months if you use a smaller amount such as 1 gram(still equivalent to 3 or 4 gel caps at a time.)

      So you won’t be using it all right away.

      I estimate it will take you about 2-3 months to use it all up. You could use it in one month if you felt like using it heavily.

      Keep in mind though, American ginseng is known for being much milder than the Asian red ginseng I like to use so you might have to adjust your dosage on the stronger side.

      That said, the great thing about taking the roots straight, your body will tell you what amount is right for you. It’s not like taking pills where you can hugely overdose by mistake.

      Above all, when you get your roots, try them in different dosages and be the judge of what feels best for you.

  2. Starets December 22, 2012 at 8:19 am

    Actually, Ganoderma is a fungus. It’s just a different type of mushroom.

    It is supposed to be a great tonic herb.

    Another great fungal tonic herb is Cordyceps.

    • Giovanni Dannato December 22, 2012 at 8:23 am

      You’re right. Thank you for the correction.

      Gastrodia is the correct name. I’ve changed it in the article.

      I’ve tried a cordyceps gelcap supplement before in conjunction with ginseng. I definitely give it a thumbs up even at super weak dosage.

      We’d be inclined to sell that too, but prices are sky high especially if it’s wild gathered. I’ve seen as high as $500 dollars a pound for the fruiting body at Asian pharmacies.

      Who knows, maybe we’ll find a good source at a decent price, especially if there’s strong demand for it.

      Any interest in Reishi mushroom?
      We may soon have a source lined up.

      • Starets December 22, 2012 at 8:34 am

        Cool, Gastrodia is a new one to me.

        Do check the Cordyceps though, it really is a good one. The raw herb is insanely expensive, but there are some good extracts available at more reasonable prices. It also has an interesting lifecycle. It is a parasitic fungus that grows and sprouts a mushroom from living, paralyzed caterpillars.

  3. Giovanni Dannato December 22, 2012 at 8:40 am

    Sorry, just expanded my reply while you were writing yours, Starets.

    I’d read up on the life cycle of the cordyceps. I found it so fascinating, that I linked to a youtube video on cordyceps mushrooms several months ago.

    I find the “mind control” aspect especially intriguing.

  4. collapseofman December 22, 2012 at 10:10 am

    Wow. How much would 3-5 grams cost, or what is the price per month to maintain superhuman greatness?

    • Giovanni Dannato December 22, 2012 at 11:21 am

      A bottle of gel caps usually has about 250-500 mg per pill. So you have to swallow an awful lot of pills to get a good dose. And you won’t get a huge effect because they’re generally using a lower grade, younger root.
      If they don’t explicitly mention they’re using 6 year old roots you can assume they’re using the young ones instead.
      Worse, for all you know, they’re just grinding up left over tap roots.
      A good quality bottle of pills will probably cost you at least $25-40 dollars and the whole bottle might only contain 20-30 grams of ginseng.

      To really load up on ginseng, I find you need at least a few grams a day of quality stuff.
      So one of our 100 gram packages would last you about 1 month even if you were using it every single day. Each 3 gram dose would cost you about $1.15.

      This said, I’ve read that traditional practitioners recommend not using ginseng in large amounts for any more than 3 months at a time.
      Listen to your body, give it a rest from time to time.

  5. Johnny Caustic December 22, 2012 at 7:25 pm

    How do you consume it? Just grind it up and sprinkle it on dinner?

    When will the store open?

    • Giovanni Dannato December 22, 2012 at 10:19 pm

      The store IS open.

      Also, I wrote up some recommendations for how to consume ginseng on the store site.

      The distinct ginseng flavor is very nice in a hot cup of strong coffee. Plus I like the effects of combining a strong stimulant with an adaptogen. You can just throw root pieces into the bottom of the coffee pot or your coffee mug and let them sit there.

      Right, now, I’m often drinking red ginseng in a tea before bed so I wake up ready to work out in the morning.

      I just take some slices of root and put it in a teapot if I want to make a lot of it and pour in boiling water from a kettle

      Or I just put the slices in the bottom of my mug if I want just one cup, pour in water, stick it in the microwave.

      Red ginseng tastes good with sweet things. Asians traditionally use honey. Right now, I’m sweetening with that unrefined cane sugar they sell in lumps(pilon, panela) in the Latino section of grocery stores. And to make it soothing at night, and for a nice flavor combining with a bit of rooibos, chamomile. Sometimes add in some skullcap and cinnamon stick too.

      I could see it being a great flavor in sugar cookies or ginger snaps.

      Whenever I’ve bought red ginseng infused honey in the past, I’ve found it pairs well with walnuts and cinnamon. Whether as an actual snack or in a tea.
      And with butter and good quality bread.

      Also, red ginseng makes a fantastic vodka infusion when you have actual roots.

      You could even just chew on it if you like, but the properties of the root are so strong that it’s better suited to being diluted in a drink of some kind.

  6. B December 23, 2012 at 4:40 am

    If you juice, could you add the ginseng to your juice, or is it better with a hot liquid?

    • Giovanni Dannato December 23, 2012 at 4:49 am

      It’s perfectly okay raw.

      In fact, red ginseng has already been through a long steaming and drying process anyway.
      And the raw white Asian ginseng is just fine to chew on too. I’ve tried it out for myself.

      I’ve never used it in a shake before, but I don’t see any reason why not.
      In fact, that sounds like a great idea.

  7. stonerwithaboner December 25, 2012 at 6:29 pm

    Giovanni,

    have you ever used psilocybin?

  8. akshay ladke August 12, 2013 at 6:29 pm

    Hello…i was in Hongkong recently and came accross this root which made me curious…a small chat with the owner of the shop and some little research on the internet led me to buying a mixture of ginseng and dried seahorses…..i havent started takin it yet…..i mean im perfectly healthy….no high blood pressure or sugar….but im kinda scared to try the mixture……i’ve bought 3 small cans….good enough for about 3 months probably….can someone help me out here….if at all i try….what should the doses be…..n what precautions should be taken before….while and after its consumption…….n what durations…?? i would really appreciate u guys helping out….cheers….

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

